Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert Green leaders, will determine the winners of the Green Awards.


Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving a Green Award.


The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of the Green Awards.

Domestic Judging Panel

Mark Bennett - Country Manager, Talent Garden


Mark Bennett sits on the global management team of this Coworking Campus and Innovation School company.

Dr Ken Boyle - Chair MSc Sustainable Development, TU Dublin


Dr Ken Boyle lectures on environmental and resource management in the School of transport engineering, environment and planning at TU Dublin. He is chair of the MSc Sustainable Development.

Dr Vivienne Byers - Senior Lecturer/Research Fellow, Environmental Sustainability & Health Institute (ESHI), TU Dublin


Dr Byers is a Senior Lecturer/Research Fellow at TU Dublin. She is a researcher in health and sustainability policy particularly the environment and health policy nexus.

Karen Coyle - Head of Energy & Environmental Management, AIB


Karen Coyle is Head of Energy & Environment for Allied Irish Bank group (AIB), with responsibility for carbon and environmental strategy, compliance and performance improvement across 250 sites in Ireland and the UK.

John Cunniffe - Estate Services Manager, The Bar of Ireland


John Cunniffe has experience rolling out Green Initiatives within property portfolios across a range of sectors; utilising his engineering background to incorporating sustain solutions within the built environment to incorporating a cradle to cradle approach to suitable projects.

Ruaidhrí De Barra - Sustainability Officer, CUH


Ruaidhrí is the Sustainability Officer for Cork University Hospital with responsibility for co-ordinating the Environmental initiatives across the first Green Flag hospital campus worldwide.

Maria Kirrane - Sustainability Officer, University College Cork


Maria has been involved in sustainability as a student, researcher and practitioner.

Paddy Lambe - Sustainability and EHS Specialist, ERM and TU Dublin


Paddy is a Sustainability and EHS consultant with Environmental Resources management (ERM), a leading global provider of environmental, health, safety, risk, social and sustainability related services.

Grace Maher - Development Officer, Irish Organic Association


Grace has extensive experience in organic food and farming. With a qualification in organic horticulture she began her career teaching Sustainable Agriculture at the Organic College in Limerick.

Neil Menzies - Sustainability Manager, Hibernia REIT


Neil Menzies has recently taken up the newly created position of Sustainability Manager with the real estate company Hibernia REIT plc (“Hibernia”). With over 10 years working in the area of sustainability, he now has responsibility for managing the sustainability efforts across Hibernia’s €1.4bn property portfolio, all of which is in Dublin.

Mark O'Neill - Managing Director, KSN Project Management


Mark O’Neill, MSc, SMP (2018), BSc (Cons), Dip B.S, FCIOB. is the Managing Director at KSN Project Management and has over twenty years of industry experience across a diverse portfolio including award winning landmark developments, bespoke commercial fit outs, houses and state of the art warehouses.

Dr. Niamh Power - Lecturer & Researcher, Cork Institute Technology


Dr. Niamh Power is a Lecturer and Researcher in Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering, in Cork Institute of Technology, Ireland.

She received an honours degree in Civil & Structural Engineering coming top of her class, before being awarded with a highly esteemed Irish Research Scholarship to pursue her PhD in the area of biogas as a transport fuel.

Padraig Ryan - Associate Director, Grant Thornton Ireland


Padraig is a Business Consultant with Grant Thornton, Ireland’s fastest growing professional services firm. The Grant Thornton Business Consulting department is a specialist team which services sectors in specific areas such as strategic planning, business process improvement, finance transformation and project and programme management.

Mark White - Supply Chain Operations Director


Mark White is currently the Operations Director for Irelands largest privately owned Pharmaceutical 3PL, servicing a client base of 2,500 – twice daily nationwide.

With in excess of 25 years Supply Chain experience in fields as diverse as FMCG, Strategic Supplier Hubs, Haz Chem, Construction and Med Waste - both Nationally and Internationally.


International Judging Panel

Steve Gillman - Food, Agriculture and Sustainability Correspondent, Belgium


Steve is a journalist based in Brussels covering sustainability issues in the food and agriculture sector.

Jan Peter Bergkvist - Senior Sustainability Advisor, Sleepwell AB, Sweden


Jan Peter "JP" Bergkvist, sustainability professional, inspiring speaker, writer & senior advisor at SleepWell AB, He has been active in the field of Sustainable Business at an executive level in the hospitality industry, since the early nineties.

Patrick McCartan - Founder / CEO, Regennabis, USA


Patrick McCartan is a highly experienced business and sustainability professional with over 20 years operating in the corporate world. He has a demonstrated history of building multi-million dollar partnerships with Fortune 500 companies.

For all enquiries, contact our team.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

T: 01 407 0595

E: info@greenawards.ie

© Green Awards 2020.

All Rights Reserved.